MINUTES

WEST VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION SEPTEMBER 20, 2024

I. Call to Order

Chairman Andrew A. Payne convened a meeting of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission on September 20, 2024, at 9:00 a.m., by Zoom video and teleconference. The following Commission members participated: Christina Cameron, Ex-Officio; James W. Dailey; James Denova; Michael J. Farrell; Diane Lewis Jackson; Andrew A. Payne, and E. Gail Pitchford. Absent was Michael Blatt, Ex-Officio. Other participants included university representatives, Chancellor Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Higher Education Policy Commission staff, and others.

Chairman Payne secured a quorum.

II. Chairman's Report

Chairman Payne welcomed all participants to the meeting.

III. Chancellor's Report

Chancellor Tucker shared that enrollment numbers are starting to come in; some but not all institutions are seeing enrollment increases. There continue to be repercussions from the FAFSA, but the increase in Higher Education Grant Program funds have had a positive impact on students and institutions.

Chancellor Tucker also shared that Wheeling University recently received notice from the United States Department of Education regarding the institution's failure to meet the Department's standards of financial responsibility.

IV. Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Pitchford moved to approve the minutes of the June 7, 2024 and July 2, 2024 Commission meetings. Commissioner Cameron seconded the motion. Motion passed.

V. Approval of Appointment to the Higher Education Student Financial Aid Advisory Board

Ms. Tana Pendell, Director of State Financial Aid Programs, presented the agenda item.

Commissioner Cameron moved approval of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission approves the appointment of David Shoemaker to the Higher Education Student Financial Aid Advisory Board.

Commissioner Pitchford seconded the motion. Motion passed.

VI. Update on Dual Enrollment

Dr. Corley Dennison, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, provided an update on the dual enrollment pilot program. Now in its second year, the program has expanded to additional institutions, new academic pathways, and increased county participation.

VII. Additional Board Action and Comment

There was no additional action or comment by the board.

VIII. Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Jackson moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Farrell seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Andrew A. Payne, Chairman

Diana Lewis Jackson, Secretary

Diana Lewis Jackson